.

Letter: McKendall's 'Heroes' Are Disconcerting

One resident voices his concern over Tina McKendall's "heroes."

Dear editor,  

'Tis the season for candidates to advertise their run for office, candidates both known and unknown.  One unknown, whose ubiquitous red signs have flooded the lawns of North Kingstown and Narragansett like weeds, is Republican Tina McKendall. 

Research reveals that McKendall is running for state senate and has a social media page where she disconcertingly says little about voter concerns and issues. She does alarmingly note that her personal heroes include two extremely controversial figures Governor Scott Walker of Wisconsin and Florida Congressman Allen West.         

Walker caused an uproar when he undercut the rights of collective bargaining for most public workers in Wisconsin with his notorious "budget repair bill."  He repealed women's equal pay law and pushed for legislation allowing the refusal of birth control to women based on the pharmacist's own religious beliefs.  Walker is a self-proclaimed Evangelical Christian who supports that group's controversial causes. West has made outrageous public statements attacking women including his infamous lines "these Planned Parenthood women, the code pink women and all of these women that have been neutering American men and bringing us to the point of this incredible weakness [we need] to let them know that we are not going to let our men become subservient."  West has been referred to as the "rock star" of the Tea Party Caucus.  

McKendall's "heroes" fill in the blanks of her agenda. I urge voters to seriously consider what she is about.  McKendall and her support of anti-union and anti-female idols is better suited to the fictional town of Stepford, where the robots have no voice, rather than our towns where her ideals have no place.

 

Kenneth Sweeney

N. Kingstown, RI  02852

cranston taxpayer October 23, 2012 at 06:11 PM
Kenneth Sweeney, you said it so eloquently....As Mitt Romeny failed to sway the American people last night on the debate, neither will the newcomer Teaparty Tina on the local level!
NK_Voter October 23, 2012 at 07:09 PM
What Ken means to say is that he doesn't agree with Tina. Fiscal responsibility, a key theme for her bid, isn't attractive to him. One wonders why... Also, it is interesting to note that many article supporting Sen Sheehan are appearing on different sites. Nice job by his reelection committee. Frankly Ken, I'm more concerned getting the current Rep to the General Assembly (GA), Sen Sheehan, booted for the 38 studios debacle. The GA created the loan guarantee program for 38 Studios and used "moral obligation" instead of "general obligation" bonds to bypass the state constitution. Long-term bonded debt is supposed to require direct voter consent...see Article VI, Section 16. Instead these arrogant "reps" put the RI taxpayer on the hook for $125M in losses. Yet Sheehan has the gall to continue to advocate for these programs? He needs to go.... ARTICLE VI - Section 16 - The general assembly shall have no powers, without the express consent of the people, to incur state debts to an amount exceeding fifty thousand dollars, except in time of war, or in case of insurrection or invasion; nor shall it in any case, without such consent, pledge the faith of the state for the payment of the obligations of others. Yet Sheehan claims
Renee O'Donnell October 23, 2012 at 07:46 PM
I didn't realize Ms. McKendall had any themes for her campaign! You wouldn't know it by the complete and total lack of information about any, go figure, issues! "Blank" agenda is perfectly said...can she please tell people where she stands on abortion, gay marriage, voter ID, E-Verify, wind energy, funding for higher education, development at Quonset, how she will support the fishing community, etc. As a voter, it would be nice if I didn't consistenly hear pedantic responses from her. Her FB page, which I believe is the only place she shares information with the public (haven't found a webpage) is full of lovely pictures around the district, a countdown to the election, pictures of her tootin' and wavin', and a "Tea Party" she had to kick off her campaign...if someone could please tell me what her qualifications are for running for a state office, I'd appreciate it. It would seem to me that if she wanted to work as a public servant, than she should have started with a run for School Committee or Town Council to get her feet wet and actually get some EXPERIENCE. I am still completely put off by the fact that Ms. McKendall lied to a NE Independent reporter about filing her campaign finance report and then turned around and told Samantha Turner a completely different story! Dishonesty is probably the reason why I won't vote for her; however I still would like to know her stand on a variety of issues, some of which I listed above...
observer October 23, 2012 at 10:17 PM
As you are obviously a GOP support person I must ask this question. Your line of reasoning ie 38 studios etc would then mean that your rep candidate Ehrhardt is also in the same tank as Sheehan, correct? I seem to remember that Ehrhardt admitted to caving into Stokes, correct? I think that the expression goes something like this--when living in a glass house be careful when throwing stones. The only thing that the NKGOP has achieved in this election cycle is to show the public that they are as screwed up as the Dems in NK. It is really too bad that we can't get rid of all of you in Nov. Dems and Republicans. It's no wonder that sane people do not get involved with politics.
Politics Sheriff of NK October 24, 2012 at 01:18 AM
Ehrhardt has LIED to protect corruption, it's a fact. He is a representative of the NKGOP core. They are rotten. Just look at the disasterous NK policies and the self-serving hacks they appoint to various boards. DONT VOTE FOR TOWN COUNCIL INCUMBENTS. DONT VOTE FOR EHRHARDT. PERIOD.
Marcus October 24, 2012 at 02:40 AM
observer and sherif I couldn't have said it better.
Govstench October 24, 2012 at 11:42 AM
This is a pretty thin editorial, Mr. Sweeney. Instead of focusing on the real issues facing this state and this country, an economy we can survive in, jobs for unemployed and our college and university graduates, I read more dribble about this Tea Party stuff but very little about the Progressives that have causing all the damage. I would say that the people of this district has more to fear from the twelve years of support of reckless spending by her opponent. Try to name more than two things that this person has done, other than being a rubber stamp for the leadership. Remember, you get the government you keep electing. Are you happy with the 43 months of double digit unemployment?
KentS October 24, 2012 at 04:33 PM
Exactly how am I or anyone to know about Tina's interest or promotion of fiscal responsibility? Her only public presence is a FB page that gives next to no information regarding her stance on important issues for voters. Also, don't put words in mouth, it's not only that I don't agree with Tina, I'm legitimately concerned with her alignment with Walker, West and the Tea Party Caucus.
KentS October 24, 2012 at 04:46 PM
Perhaps you should be attacking Ms. McKendall's complete lack of focus on any of these "real" issues you speak of. She has very little to say about any of these issues for voters to form an opinion about her. She does, however, spend time on her FB page aligning herself of Walker and West who, for any intelligent citizen, are incredibly bad news for working, free thinking Americans. There's nothing thin about my points. In contrast, your complaints seem to be merely thinly veiled attacks on the incumbent. If you are reminding me of "getting the government we keep electing" - I'd much rather have a seasoned candidate who has experience and seems to present all of his opinions and stances on issues in his literature, statements and on his website, than a candidate who seems utterly clueless about any of the issues important to the state when looking at her literature, web presence, statements or lack thereof.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something